Phantogram - “When I'm Small” [MP3]

Phantogram é um duo de Greenwich, New York, USA, formado por Josh Carter (guitar) e Sarah Barthel (keys), que praticam o que podemos chamar de electronic rock com elementos de indie pop, street beat, psyche pop, trip-hop etc. A dupla está lançando, depois de dois singles e dois EPs, seu álbum de estréia, Eyelid Movies, via Barsuk Records, que liberou o primeiro single do disco, “When I'm Small”, estonteante.

MP3: Phantogram - “When I'm Small”

Eyelid Movies
Releasead: February 9, 2010

Phantogram's music sounds like it's made by a band from the city. Electronic loops, hip-hop beats, shoegaze, soul, pop — each finds its way into their songs. Unexpectedly, the band doesn't live and work in a major urban center, but rather calls the town of Saratoga Springs, NY (population 26,186) home. Despite the cultural influence of local Skidmore College (where fellow beat-experimenters Ratatat formed) and a relatively small scene of adventurous musicians and listeners, Saratoga isn't exactly teeming with fans of J. Dilla, My Bloody Valentine or Serge Gainsbourg. But Josh Carter and Sarah Barthel, the duo that make up Phantogram, have flourished in Saratoga. In fact, the town itself isn't rural enough for their taste — they drive almost every day another 45 minutes into upstate farmland to a barn they call Harmony Lodge to write and record. Serving as their homemade studio/practice space/think-tank/bat-cave, the barn is equipped with various samplers, tapes, records, synths, drums, and both percussive and stringed instruments, and it's there that Phantogram allows their natural surroundings and metropolitan influences to meld together creating beautiful, beat-driven dreamlike pop songs.


1. mouthful of diamonds
2. when i'm small
3. turn it off
4. running from the cops
5. all dried up
6. as far as i can see
7. you are the ocean
8. bloody palms
9. futuristic casket
10. let me go
11. 10,000 claps

ORDER: Eyelid Movies

Links: myspace | barsuk | sub-bombin | bbemusic

CDs & MP3s:
CD Universe

Nenhum comentário: